Mon. Apr 6th, 2020

Rerun Elections: TRC sues for Peaceful Conduct in Essien Udim

Anthony Akpan

Members of the Traditional Rulers Council in Essien Udim Local Government Area led by the Paramount Ruler; His Royal Highness; Obong Cosmas Akpan have called on all Political Parties and their members to remain peaceful in their preparation and subsequent participation in the forthcoming Rerun Elections slated to hold on Saturday, 25th January, 2020 across the Local Government Area.

The Traditional Rulers made this known on Monday 20th January, 2020 at the Palace of the Paramount Ruler in Ekpenyong Atai 1, when the Council of Chiefs met with the stakeholders of the Peoples’ Democratic Party,PDP, Essien Udim Chapter, to strategically deliberate on the various cum positive approaches that would be put in place in order to ensure a peaceful and successful elections in all the respective Units and Wards across the Area.

The Paramount Ruler while welcoming the PDP Faithfuls to his humble Palace and applauding their quick response action to the Council’s invitation for the meeting, said “Essien Udim is neither a war zone nor a battle field, so every politician from this Local Government should learn to play politics void of bitterness, anger, hatred, violence, killings, thuggery, theft, ballot and sensitive materials snatching etc because these may lead to destruction of lives and properties.Politics is a game and every candidate of any political party should inculcate the spirit of sportsmanship always by getting prepared to accept defeat or victory at all time”.

Chief Akpan used the medium to warn all militant-spirited persons, groups or parties to exchew the act of perpetuating violence for whatever reason, rather embrace peace because its a necessary condition for peaceful coexistence and meaningful development.

In their separate remarks, the Political Leader; Akparawa Obong Michael Afangide, Member representing Ikot Ekpene Federal Constituency; Rt Hon Nsikak Ekong and Chapter Chairman of PDP; Hon Cyril Udoh thanked the members of the Traditional Rulers Council for the peace initiative, stressing that the issuance of the peace injunction and subsequent presentation of the symbol of peace is significant and will not be taken for granted but given due attention by PDP.They reiterated the party’s and it’s members resolve to adhere to the peace agreement in respect to the forthcoming Rerun election while calling on other political parties and their members to embrace the peace talk for the sake of peace in the Local Government at any given time.

Responding, the Executive Chairman of the Area, Elder Raphael Isobara lauded the leader of the Council of Chiefs and members, for initiating such a peace talk meeting, where a number of agreements to further strengthen the unity, love, and peaceful coexistence of the people of the area before, during and after the elections were settled for, maintaining that this action is in line with the initiative of Governor Udom Emmanuel who has through his leadership prowess, ultimate love for his people, passion for the protection of lives and properties, secured a relatively peaceful Akwa Ibom State since he was elected into office in 2015.

Isobara joined other stakeholders to call on well meaning Essien Udim son and daughter to embrace peace as this will make Essien Udim great once again with a peaceful and successful conduct of the forthcoming rerun elections.

High point of the event was that solemn moment when the Leader of the Traditional Council issued a Traditional Peace Injunction with the presentation of the symbol of peace known as ‘àjei’ through the Political Leader and PDP Caucus Chairman ; Akparawa Obong M.A Afangide to the PDP family, for everlasting peace in the area before, during and after the Rerun election.

Present at the meeting were Political Leader of Essien Udim; Akparawa Obong M. A. Afangideh, Executive Chairman of Council; Elder Raphael Isobara, Deputy State Chairman of PDP; Sir Sunyiekekere Inokon, Senator Representing Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District; His Excellency, Engr Christopher Ekpenyong, Member Representing Ikot Ekpene, Easien Udim and Obot Akra Federal Constituency at National Assembly; Rt Hon Nsikak Ekong, Vice Chairman of the Council; Mrs Emem Ekarika, Members of the Legislative Council and Supervisory Councillors led by the Leader; Hon UduakObong Umoh, Chapter Chairman of PDP and other Chapter and Ward Officers, Former Executive Council Chairman; Hon Martin Umanah, Engr Oliver Ebong, Dr Etido Ibekwe, Sir Lambert Udoh, Sir Lambert Orok, Barr Imowo Okpokpo, Hon Emmanuel Useh and other stakeholders of the Party.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Copyright © All rights reserved. | Akwaibom Daily
× Chat on Whatsapp